Downgrade

You Can Still Downgrade iOS 11.1 To iOS 10.3.3 On iPhone 6s

This is a bit of a bizarre one, but for one reason or another, Apple is still allowing iPhone 6s users to downgrade to iOS 10.3.3 from various versions of iOS 11, including the latest publicly released iOS 11.1.

The Cupertino-based company initially seemed to have a very valid reason for doing this purely for iPhone 6s owners as users who had their touchscreen replaced by a third-party suffered from unresponsiveness issue on the device. It was because of this Apple started resigning 10.3.3 for iPhone 6s shortly after closing it on all devices. But with this issue being fixed starting from iOS 11.0.3, the company continues to sign the old firmware.

The open window means that all iPhone 6s owners can still take the opportunity to revert back to iOS 10.3.3 away from any version of iOS 11 if they wished to do so. There could be multiple reasons for this, including some users still suffering issues with iPhone 6s running early versions of iOS 11, and who haven’t had the confidence to update further down the iOS 11 chain because of early issues they have encountered.

A downgrade could also be on the cards purely because the device owner doesn’t like what iOS 11 represents. Certain design changes have been made throughout the system. Apple has introduced a brand new App Store app with a radical new user-interface and user-experience, but as much as this seems to have been met with approval by most, it certainly won’t be to everyone’s tastes. And, of course, because iPhone 6s isn’t a brand new hardware and is now a couple of generations old, it could just be that installing it has affected device performance in other ways or had an adverse effect on battery life. Whatever the reason it’s good to know that a downgrade to iOS 10.3.3 is still possible even if temporarily or just as an oversight on the company’s part.

Now that you know that Apple is still signing iOS 1o.3.3 for iPhone 6s for reasons which are currently only known to those internally, you may also know that iOS 10.3.3 was a solid and stable version of iOS for most device owners. Armed with all of that information, if you are an iPhone 6s owner and you want to get back to iOS 10.3.3, then you can use our existing guide on the downgrade process here:

Step 1: First of all you are going to need to make sure that you are sitting on the latest version of iTunes on your Mac or Windows PC. If not, download and install it with immediate effect.

Step 2: You will also need to have the relevant IPSW file for the device that you own. You can download the right iOS 10.3.3 IPSW file for your specific device from here:
Download iOS 10.3.3 Final IPSW Links For iPhone, iPad, iPod touch.

Step 3: On the device, you will now need to turn off the Find My iPhone feature. Navigate to Settings > iCloud > Find My iPhone. Toggle the Find My iPhone switch to the Off position and authenticate with the iCloud password when prompted.

Note: You can bypass DFU mode altogether in Step 4 below and restore to iOS 10.3.3 just like normal restore with iTunes from Step 5 onwards, but we recommend using DFU mode to avoid any potential issues.

Step 4: Use the provided USB cable to connect your device to the computer and ensure that iTunes launches. You’re now going to need to put the connected device into DFU or Recovery mode. iPhone 7 users should follow our guide here for instructions on how to put the phone in DFU mode. Non-iPhone 7 users should hold down the Power and Home button for 10 seconds, then release the Power button but ensuring that Home button is still pressed. The device will jump into DFU mode and iTunes will provide an alert saying that it has detected a device in Recovery Mode.

Step 5: Now, in iTunes, press and hold the Option key (Mac), or SHIFT key (Windows), and select the Restore iPhone… option in the main device window. Select the iOS 10.3.3 IPSW file from your computer that you want to downgrade to.

Step 6: iTunes will instantly go about its business and restore the iOS 10.3.3 firmware file to the device.

When it has finished doing what it needs to do, it will present you with the standard Hello! screen of iOS 10 allowing you to set the device up as per your requirements.
Comments

How to downgrade iOS 10 to iOS 9

how-to-downgrade-ios-10-hero1

How to downgrade back to iOS 9 using a clean restore:
Step 1: Back up your iOS device.
Step 2: Download the latest (currently iOS 9.3.5) public iOS 9 IPSW file to your computer.
Step 3: Connect your iOS device to your computer via USB.
Step 4: Launch iTunes and open the Summary page for your iOS device.
Step 5: Hold the Option ( ) key and click the Restore iPhone button. (Windows users will need to hold Shift instead of Option).
Step 6: Select the iOS 9 IPSW file downloaded in step 2 and click Open.
Your iOS device will now be downgraded back to iOS 10. It will take a while for the process to complete, so be patient.

How to downgrade back to iOS 9 using the update method:
Step 1: Back up your iOS device.
Step 2: Download the latest (currently iOS 9.3.5) public iOS 9 IPSW file to your computer.
Step 3: Connect your iOS device to your computer via USB.
Step 4: Launch iTunes and open the Summary page for your iOS device.
Step 5: Hold the Option ( ) key and click the Check for Update button. (Windows users will need to hold Shift instead of Option).
Step 6: Select the iOS 9 IPSW file downloaded in step 2 and click Open.
Your iOS device will now be downgraded back to iOS 9. This method makes it so that your device updates while keeping most app data, Home screen layout settings, etc. It will take a while for the process to complete, so be patient. In the video walkthrough below, I’ve sped up the file extraction and installation process to save time.
Step 7: When prompted, Slide to upgrade and the enter your passcode to complete the process.

If you used a configuration profile to install the iOS 10 beta, it will remain on your iOS device, which will allow you to easily upgrade back to the iOS 10 beta at a later time. If you don’t plan on using the iOS 10 beta again, the configuration profile, found in Settings General Profiles, can be deleted.
Comments